GOLF: Young Belton Park team win Grantham Cup

Have your say


As part of Belton Park Horse Trials tradition, gentlemen golfers of Belton Park played for the Grantham Cup in a fourball Am-Am competition on Sunday.

This year’s event was played under mainly dry skies but with a tricky wind to make playing conditions challenging for all. Winners with an excellent score of 88 points were one of the youngest teams in the field.

Results: 1 A. Green, J. Philpotts, J. Neal and J. Meredith 88pt, 2 M. Maclachlan, G. Mitchell, C. Gray and R. Downs 84, 3 T. Ireland, J. Butler, M. Loveridge and B. Blow 84; Spitalgate Cup – 1 G. Carpenter and D. Scott 44, 2 R. Denton and I. Carroll 42, 3 A. Trotter and D. Pretorius 42; Midweek Stableford – 1 J. Baxter 39, best gross – P. Roper 39.

C Team

Belton Park 6

Rutland County 0

Belton Park names first – Tony Davies and Stewart Boylan beat Roger Overton and Pete Siciliano 6&5, John Cooke and Colin Mason beat Gerry Macintyre and Phil Drury 2&1, Andy Stepney and Bob Rogers beat Alan Shuttleworth and Graham Cole 4&3, Robert Pask and Simon Denton beat David Whitehead and John Chatburn 6&5, Dave Wing and Ben Bayliss beat Phil Cuttle and Geoff Osbourne 1 up, Ian Carroll and Roy Allan beat Dave Rippon and Paul Milson 6&4.


Belton Park 5

Radcliffe 3

Bill Brogan and Bill Hislop lost 3&2, Paul Skelton and Fred Williams won 4&3, Barrie Stainton and Peter Hawkins won 3&1, David Langley and Shaun Boney lost 3&2, Nick Craft and Terry Bond won 3&2, Michael and Goodacre and Keith Brown won 1 up, Alan Adis and Brian Mole lost 3&2, Trevor Collis and John Thompson won 3&2.



Radcliffe 3½

Belton Woods 4½

George Forbes and Colin thornton won 3-2, Pat Stanford and Paul Stanley won 6-4, Peter Bishop and Mike Whitington lost 5-4, Alan Lowen and John Sabin lost 5-4, Les Vine and John Bratt halved, David Toule and Phil Turrell won 5-4, Colin Musson and John Williams won 6-4, Ian Nisbet and Mick Hall lost 2-1.

Belton Woods 5

Rutland County 3

George Forbes and John Bratt halved, Henry Knight and David Toule won 1 up, Alan Lowen and John Sabin won 1 up, Mike Whitington and John Williams 5-4, Colin Thornton and Tin Win lost 3-2, Colin Musson and Phil Turrell won 2-1, Peter Bishop and Ian Nisbet halved, Mike North and Les Vine lost 2-1.

Monthly Stableford results: 1 Denis Manton 36pt, 2 Roger Hanratty 35, 3 Pat Stanford 34, 4 Roy Adlard 33, 5 John Williams 32 ocb, 6 Terry Seddon 32, 7 Tony Slipper 31 ocb, 8 Colin Grant 31, 9 Mike Whitington 30 ocb, 10 Phil Turrell 30.


B Team

Stoke Rochford 5

Belton Woods 3

Stoke names first – M. Andrews and K. Bond lost to J. King and S. Piggot 2&1, K. Helstrip and T. Greenfield halved with G. Weatherall and R. Body, J. Purdy and J. Booth halved with J. Stapleton and R. Williams, S. Glencross and G. Tebbutt lost C. Sneesby and R. Palframan 2 down, B. White and R. Dexter beat K. Keep and G. O’Reilly 2&1, R. Forster and B. Smith beat K. Vasey and B. Robinson 2&1, A. Croft and B. Footitt beat P. Kidd and J. Gill 7&6, M. Harvey and O. McHugh beat B. Foster and D. Woods 4&3.


Peterborough Milton 3½

Stoke Rochford 4½

Barry Coop and Lance Sully halved, Mike Nixon and Roger Smith won 5&4, Brian Whiteand Eddie Plant won 4&3, Ray Elsome and Brian Keightley won 1 up, Keith Dugmore and Les Cooper won 5&3, Mike Dickinson and Greg Ewart lost 1 down, Ken Talyor andPhil White lost 1 down, Brian Ayto and Graham Manton lost 3&2.


Sudbrook Moor Tuesday ladies’ MBE Trophy received a record turnout and the stableford qualifer was won by Fiona Hutton with 40 points.

Runner-up with 38 was Joan Doughty, followed by Doreen Fardell (36) on countback from Amanda Roberts. Also in the prizes was Erica Sansom on countback from Lorna Jackson on 35pt, and Cath Green, Mags McArthur and Joan Alton on 34.

Joan won the nearest the pin tee shot on the par three sixth.

The ladies’ Winter Eclectic first prize was claimed by Amanda Roberts by finishing two shots clear of Hnin Shein.

The seniors’ Winter Eclectic was won by Dave Guy on countback from Graham Buxton and John Johnson. Also in the prize payout were Tony Sealey and Dave Leslie.