Golfers contest annual Belton Park Spring Open

Have your say


Golfers from all over the region took to the fairways of Belton Park to compete in the 2014 Spring Open last Sunday.

Results: morning – 1 Jim Wiggins (Belton Park) and Mick Green (Sudbrook Moor) 37 points, 2 Gary Tupper (Belton Park) and Dean Griffiths (Belton Park) 37, 3 Rob Bartlett (Belton Park) and Harry Glenn (Belton Park) 36, 4 Simon Tomlinson (Belton Park) and Peter McKeown 35; afternoon – 1 Nigel R. Gibson (Belton Park) and Nigel W. Gibson (Belton Park) 42, 2 Michael Horton (Wollaton Park) and Andy Sears (Coxmoor) 42, 3 Andrew Watson (Stoke Rochford) and Robin Harris (Stoke Rochford) 41, 4 Andrew Green (Sudbrook Moor) and Simon Green (Sudbrook Moor) 41.

l Belton Park hosted a visit of residents from Avery Lodge care home.

The group, including life member Paul Groves, spent time tuning up their swings in the practice net.

l There were dissapointing results for both Belton Park scratch teams last week.

The first team suffered a shock 4-2 home defeat to Sleaford. The only victories came from the pairs of Matt Haynes and Charlie Bentley, and Chris Burns and Nigel Harris.

Defending champions Belton Park 2nd kicked off the defence of their title with a disappointing defeat away to Sleaford. Although most of the matches were very close, with four matches decided on the 17th hole, only the pairing of Gleave and Gibson managed a win.

Results: David Price and Harry Glenn lost 2&1, Tony Gleave and Nigel Gibson won 4&3, Mick Sims and Chris Mottershead lost 2&1, David Midgley and Kev Sheppard lost 2&1, Mark Sutton and James Marshall lost 2 down, Mike Hallam and Rob Chapple lost 4&3.

C Team

Greetham Valley 1

Belton Park 5

Tony Davies and Ian Carroll won 2&1, Rob Bartlett and Paul Woods lost 1 down, Dave Wing and Ian Mason won 1 up, Simon Whitton and Robert Pask won 7&6, Simon Denton and Roy Allan won 3&2, Danny Coyle and Sean Wragg won 7&6.


Belton Park competed in the Queen Elizabeth Cup with Jan Johnson continuing her recent run of good form, with an excellent 41 points victory.

Second place went to Enid Maltby with 39 points, and third was Margaret Bowen on 38.

Donna Hayle represented the club at Shrewsbury in the All England Regional medal winners competition and qualified for the final in June by finishing ninth.


Belton Park played the return leg of their annual friendly match with Boston, with the result a 4-4 draw.

Results: Bill Brogan and David Martin won 6&5, Trevor Collis and Dave Langley won 1 up, Fred Williams and Nick Craft lost 4&3, Peter Brooks and Peter Rollings lost 5&4, Paul Skelton and Terry Bond won 1 up, Keith Brown and Rick Alsbury lost 1down, Willie Badraun and Andrew Cookson lost 3&2, Ray Clark and Dave Jackson won 6&4.


Stableford results: 1Andrew Kelley 40pt, 2 Michael Whatton 38; best gross – Chris Burns 36; ladies – Edina Burns and Jacqui Barson 35.



Stoke Rochford seniors played the second round of their six round Trophy competition.

Winner with 40 points was Eddie Plant, ahead of Ron Kent in second with 38. Gareth Hughes and Charles Donnison shared third spot with 37 points.

With three rounds to count, current leaders are Eddie Plant 76, Ron Kent 74 and Barrie Griffin 71.

Stoke Rochford 5½

Scraptoft 2½

Barry Coop and Alan Jessop halved, Ray Beal and Roland Slack won 2&1, David Hamilton and Gary Skerritt won 1 up, Mike Nixon and Malcolm Edwards won 6&5, Chris Woof and Jim Price lost 2&1, Mick Rance and Eddie Malloy won 2&1, Wilf Stephenson and John Batty lost 1 down, Keith Eddy and John Wright won 2 up.

Luffenham Heath 5

Stoke Rochford 3

Barry Coop and Eddie Malloy lost 4&3, Mike Nixon and Greg Ewart won 3&2, Brain Ayto and Les Cooper won 1 up, Stephen Major and Keith Eddy lost 1 down, Charles Donnison and Roland Slack lost 6&5, Graham Manton and Mike Dickinson lost 2&1, Eddie Plant and Ken Taylor won 4&2, Phil White and Malcolm Edwards lost 2&1.


Sunday’s Belton Woods men’s Charity Stableford was a very tightly fought out affair in Division One, being won on countback by junior Ben Richards.

Results: Division One – 1 Master Ben Richards 42pt ocb, 2 Jeff Earl 42, 3 Darren Woods 39; Division Two – 1 Greg Dyer 38, 2 Tony Hardy 37 ocb, 3 Jim Seedhouse 37.


The Marshall’s May Monthly Medal was a closely contested competition won eventually on countback by Danny Pang with 70 net.

Results: 1 Danny Pang 70 ocb, 2 Les Vine 70 ocb, 3 John MacGillivray 70, 4 Peter Bishop 71, 5 Bob Clarke 73 ocb, 6 Del House 73 ocb, 7 Richard James 73, 8 John Williams 74, 9 Tony Slipper 75 ocb, 10 Phil White 75.

Norwood Park 6

Belton Woods 2

George Forbes and Mike Whitington won 2-1, Pat Stanford and David Toule lost 2 down, Ray Woodcock and Gordon Scott lost 1 down, Alan Lowen and John Sabin won 3-2, Mike North and Mike Gulliford lost 1 down, Paul Stanley and Colin Thornton lost 6-5, Bob Blake and Peter Bishop lost 4-3, Phil Turrell and Bob Clarke lost 2-1.


Ian Mason carded a two under CSS from a field of 51 players to clinch the Ken Crowe Challenge Cup title on May Medal Day.

He won on a back nine countback from Keith Maclachlan and Andrew Green. Best gross of the day went to Keith and top in Category Four was Trevor Whatton. Best lady was Amanda Roberts with top high handicap junior being Joseph Ablewhite.

Other runners-up in the prize frame were Jon Machin, Jim Garriock, Mike Saul, Mike Koranski and Caroline Davis.

The twos sweep was shared by Jon Machin, Phil Hall, Andy Newman and Graham Ritchie.

l Overall winner in the monthly Seniors’ Super Stableford Order of Merit with a splendid score of 39 points was Roy Nelson.

Runner-up was Mike Dyason, from Colin Henfrey, Dave Guy, John Ronan and Harry Cutmore. Series leader is Andy Milner.