Grantham men triumph over ladies in presidents’ showdown

Have your say

It was an emphatic triumph for the men’s team when the Grantham Bowls Club’s presidents’ match was played.

The men’s president’s squad, captained by Nigel Smith, romped to a 138-65 success over the ladies’ president’s team, which was skippered by Gloria Keasley.

Results were as follows (men’s president’s team names first):

Richard Barrett, Jake Hawkins, Colin Goodley and Ian Cole beat Margaret Allen, Elaine Meakins, Pam Greer and Ruth Murphy 32-11; Stephen Potts, Bill Stephenson, Graham Hall and Bruce Allen beat Jeannie Priest, Linda Smith, Jill Potts and Rita Baxter 22-13; Glen Parrish, Maurice Appleyard, Michael Dring and Roger Turnbull beat Margaret Barrett, Joy Hobbs, Bette Whittle and Shirley Beardsley 28-7; Malcolm Brett, Dave Hobbs, Jeff Kime and Nigel Smith beat Linda Appleyard, Gladys Solesbury, Joy Hall and Gloria Keasley 23-11; David Rainsford, Norman Baxter, John Morris and Graham Smith beat Mavis Palmer, Judy Morris, Brenda Patten and Muriel Goodchild 17-13; David Abernethy, Keith Solesbury, Toni Asher and Rob Sowerby beat Sheila Richards, Christine Padmore, Pat Riches and Pat Royce 16-10.

Grantham were beaten 50-46 by Long Bennington in a Sencit League encounter.

Results were as follows (Long Bennington names first):

J Hoole, Jo Morris, G Keasley amd G Hall beat A Wyles, J Baxter, J Wyles and B Hollingworth 22-10; K Kent, M Tivey, J Hall and J Morris lost to J Baxter, G Solesbury, P Hainsworth and K Solesbury 18-13; T Kent, E Eggleston, T Hoole and M Dring lost to L Appleyard, M Sharpe, D Lester and M Appleyard 18-15.

Also in the league, Barkstone defeated Arnold Field 53-36.

Results (with Barkstone names first) were:

J Hogg, W Snowdon, R Morley and R Smith beat T Burton, P Burton, L Smith and G Smith 19-8; P Jacques, P Parker, J Parker and J McCandless beat A Slade, D Slade, B Shores and M Goodchild 18-10; H McCandless, S Payling, P Greer and L Payline lost to G Bland, G Parish, J Gowler and D Gowler 18-16.