INDOOR BOWLS: Grantham club wins annual series against Melton

Grantham captain D. Lester receives the trophy back from Melton counterpart V. James.
Grantham captain D. Lester receives the trophy back from Melton counterpart V. James.
Have your say

Grantham Indoor Bowling Club triumphed in the annual six-game series against Melton Mowbray.

Having lost by a single point last year, Grantham exacted revenge with another narrow six point win after the three games at home and three away. Grantham won the final game 82-65.

Grantham 82

Melton Mowbray 65

J Asher P Riches T Asher beat R Wallbanks R Johnson C Thompson 17-10, B Hollingworth R Baxter K Noble beat M Shaw R Thorpe L Woodcock 16-3, L Appleyard D Lester M Appleyard beat D Armstrong V James B James 21- 5, I Ludwig B Shores A Ludwig lost to H Armstong E Warrington H Warrington 8-23, J Gowler N Tinkler D Gowler beat T Harris B Farr B Shaw 11-10, P Tinkler R Moore F Evans lost to C Pick D Pick F Thorpe 9-14.

Sencit League

Barnstone 62

Long Bennington 46

J Hogg D Hazard R Morley R Smith beat S Creedy C Miller G Hall M Dring 24-15, P Jaques P Greer G Taylor J Parker lost to C Tuckwood R Miller J Hall N Smith 11-22, H McCandless W Snowdon A Cullen J McCandless beat R Baxter G Creedy J Orrey P Fordham 27-9.

Jack High League

Grantham 75

Long Bennington 44

P Hainsworth J Kime R Sowerby beat T Kent C McCarroll G Hall 33-10, T Sumner T Asher J Lewis beat K Kent J Hall G Creedy 25-21, J Asher I Ludwig A Ludwig beat E Eggleston D McCarroll P Griffiths 17-13

Vacu-Lug 64

Bingham B 38

J Bainbridge M Allen M Eurich lost to P Evans A Brailsford K Brailsford 10-18, I Richardson J Franklin B Allen beat P Jaques A Cullen K Handley 35-5, R Barker M Parker A Berridge beat B Davey T Peterson P Thornhill 19-15.

Lincolnshire Mixed League

Dunholme 94

Grantham 90

M Voase K Shackleton E Bryson K Woffinden beat R Baxter G Parrish A Brailsford K Brailsford 27-21, R Joyce M Joyce K Morley D Goodliffe lost to P Tinkler P Burton R Murphy T Turnbull 9-19, S Skipworth D Baker R Lyons P Burgess beat I Ludwig J Hall G Hall A Ludwig 22-11, B Ryan B Golland J Wilkinson G Picksley beat J Burton N Tinkler L Smith G Smith 21-15, K Warwick R Shephard D Skipworth J Stimson lost to M Culpin P Greer I Cole J Lewis 15-24.