Medal joy for Nick after penalty blow

Have your say

The July medal competition at Greetham Valley was played on the Lakes course in very hot conditions.

Winner in Division One and overall was Nick Cunnington, playing off a handicap of four. He produced an excellent gross two over par score of 74 for a net 70, despite suffering a penalty early in his round.

Three players were tied on 73 points in Division One, with nine handicapper Dave Pusch taking second on count-back from John Simpson, also off nine, in third, and plus one golfer Jordan Burdall in fourth.

Jordan at least had the consolation of winning the lowest gross with an impressive 72.

Peter Ryan, off 13, won Division Two with a splendid net 72, ahead of three players on net 73.

Club president Martin Boughton was placed second on count-back and he also won the joint lowest gross in this division with Peter. Steve Burgon was third and Robert Bailey fourth.

Keith Ross won division three and the lowest gross in his division with a 90 (net 71). Graham Stark finished second, with Keith Heppenstall third, both recorded net 75s.

** Greetham Valley ladies’ scratch team recorded a good victory at Stoke Rochford.

The in form Emma Tipping beat Pam Watson 6 & 5; Sophie Beardsall beat June Miller 3 & 2; captain Gilly Grant beat Chris Rowley.

** Greetham Valley first team lost at home to Blankney 4-2 on possibly the hottest day of the year so far.

Father and son combination of Paul and Adam Clegg achieved a narrow one up victory; Chris Steele and Fraser Denholm lost 3 & 1; Andrew Frisby and Ben Gasson won two up; Neil Harris and Ben Easson lost 4 & 3; four captain Trevor Smith and Bob Green lost one down; George Grant and Ally McNaughton lost 8 & 6.

** The Greetham Valley second team travelled to top of the table Blankney and avenged an early season home defeat to the same opposition, winning this encounter 5-1.

Richard Wilson and Carl Causbrook won 2 & 1; Neil Crees and Peter De Kremer won one up; Simon Bateman and Paul Jenkinson lost 3 & 2; captain Alan Bennett and Steff Dutton won 2 & 1; Steve Anderson and Elliot Clarke won 2 & 1; Dave Copley and Tony Mould won two up.

** John Taylor won the first division in the seniors’ July qualifier on count-back from Neil Bradbury, they both scored 41 points.

Ken Moore and Tim Howlett, in third and fourth place, were also separated on count-back after they each scored 38 points.

Taylor also won the overall competition.

Ken Upton won division two on 38 points, four clear of Dave Lucas, Ian Kellam and Frank Maguire who took the next three places, all scoring 34 points.