MOTORCYCLING: Enduro Champs kick start at Banovallum

Expert class winner David Rushton. Photo: Redman Photographic
Expert class winner David Rushton. Photo: Redman Photographic
Have your say

The 2016 Banovallum Motorcycle Club Enduro Championship kicked off last Sunday at the popular venue near Ashby Peurorum.

Bright and mainly dry conditions greeted a near capacity entry within the six category classes taking part. Some new tracks were added including an exciting Table Top Jump which added to the spectacle for the spectators watching on and also tested the Moto X skills of the riders.

The pace was fast and frenetic at the front and it was David Rushton (KTM) who took the honours in the Expert class, completing 18 laps overall in a time of 3hr 8min 40sec, with Ben Hamilton (KTM) second and Lee Hattersley third aboard his Husqvarna.

Clubman category was won by Darren Cox (Beta), completing 16 laps in 3.18.24, a lap clear of Oli Moses (KTM) in second, with Kevin L. Bartle (Honda) rounding out the top three.

Matt Harris (Kawasaki) claimed victory in the ever competitive Sportsman class, ahead of the KTM pair of Tom Dent and Marc Palin who were second and third respectively.

Ollie Wood (Husqvarna) took home the top spot in the Beginners’ class, ahead of Joe Tapper (KTM) with Andy Burnie (Husqvarna) in the final podium position.

Shaun Woffinden (Honda) took victory in the Over 45s section while Kevin Bartle (Honda) was once again untouchable and claimed top spot in the Trail/Classic Class.

The venue, close to Horncastle, will figure again later in the nine round series when round three takes place on Sunday, May. Round two is due to take place on Sunday, April 16, at Thoresway Motoparc, near Caistor.