Round-up of bowls results in Grantham and Belvoir leagues

Have your say

The Vale of Belvoir Bowling League defeated the League of Country Bowling Clubs at Bottesford Bowls Club on Sunday.

Belvoir League


Bingham 77

Harlaxton 96

Bingham names first – P. Handley, A. Parker and P. Thornhill lost to K. C. Smith, F. Rivers and D. Hill 20-23; M. Went, A. Cullen and A. Brailsford lost to M. P. Laws, H. Fisher and P. Clark 20-28; J. Jones, T. Perris and K. Handley beat R. Barker, J. Barker and P. McHugh 19-25; C. Went, J. Cullen and K. Brailsford lost to M. Nix, P. Johnson and C. Johnson 18-10.

Belvoir won 108 shots to 105, but with only two rinks with four against.

With matches played in the series, LCBC are leading overall by 15 points to 12. The final match to decide the champions will be played at Knipton Bowls Club next Sunday.

Grantham League


Arnoldfield 56

Corby Glen 59

C. Arthur, M. Watt and A. Alexander beat M. Wood, T. Ray and M. Beaton 21-16; D. Sansom, J. Kopp and L. Bromley lost to B. Johnson, J. Boother and J. Simpson 11-29; J. Doughty, C. Goodley and A. Stafford beat L. Hall, T. Taylor and J. Beaton 24-14.

Grantham 56

Dysart Park 39

Grantham names first – T. Sumner, L. Anderson and T. Oxley beat D. Warren, J. Sayer and C. Dexter 25-9; J. Asher, T. Asher and Joe Lewis lost to J. McAteer, L. Thompson and B. Veasey 9-22; R. Sumner, Jay Lewis and N. Smith beat P. Newton, R. Smith and M. Holby 22-8.


Dysart Park 75

Gonerby B 26

Dysart Park names first – P. Newton, R. Smith and M. Holby beat L. Blankley and B. Papworth 28-6; J. Prater, B. Orridge and P. Edwards beat J. Prater, B. Orridge and P. Edwards 29-6; S. Yates, L. Thompson and C. Dexter beat M. Halls, K. Turner and L. Turner 18-14.

Arnoldfield 48

Gonerby B 43

Arnoldfield names first – D. Marshall, C. Steptoe and L. Bromley lost to B. Papworth, R. Tilley and P. Edwards 23-12; C. Arthur, M. Watt and A. Alexander beat M. Halls, J. Prater and L. Turner 17-10; D. Sansom, C. Goodley and A. Alexander beat L. Blankley, B. Orridge and P. Jones 19-10.

Freedom & Fellowship

Second leg

Grantham 103

Swayfield 54

Grantham names first – T. Sumner, D. Rainsford and Jay Lewis beat M. Lyon, J. Geeson and T. Harwood 27-14; J. Duke, T. Asher and T. Oxley beat M. Pulford, J. Hockerby and H. Mumby 27-10; R. Sumner, S. Harrison and L. Anderson beat M. Sharpe, R. Halsey and N. Davis 24-15; J. Asher, A. Curtis and Joe Lewis beat B. Marston, R. Selby and S. Harwood 25-15.

ASC Lincs

Grantham 55

Claytons 41

J. Asher, M. Healey and Joe Lewis won 22-14; J. Duke, T. Asher and T. Oxley lost 13-18; D. Rainsford, R. Smith and Jay Lewis won 20-9.

Trophy Trebles

First round

B. Papworth lost to P. Jordan 22-26, L. Turner lost to C. Abbott 20-22, J. Morris CON v B. Veasey AW, M. Beaton bye, A. Blackburn lost to T. Oxley 14-21, Jay Lewis beat R. Lewis 28-13, N. Davis lost to G. Taylor 10-20, M. Massingham lost to A. Stafford 22-23.

Downtown Superstore Trophy

Second round

S. Harwood lost to A. Stafford 11-16, Jay Lewis AW v J. Morris CON, R. Lewis beat B. Powell 18-9, B. Papworth lost to C. Abbott 7-26, J. Simpson lost to C. Dexter 14-26, D. Warren beat J. Geeson 24-10, M. Massingham beat M. Beaton 23-20; M. Dawson lost to P. Musson 14-21.

Harry Hardy Cup

First round

L. Thompson lost to D. Warren 16-21, B. Papworth lost to C. Dexter 13-21, L. Blankley lost to P. Jones 17-21, K. Lilley CON v L. Turner AW, P. Musson AW v J. Prater CON, Jay Lewis beat R. Atter 21-5, M. Halls beat J. Pask 21-18, A. Brunton beat P. Jordan 21-12.

Hospital Bowl

First round

Long Bennington beat Swayfield 67-61, Dysart Park beat Grantham 64-50, Great Gonerby beat Bottesford 81-51, Corby Glen beat Vacu-Lug 70-47.

Lee Trophy

Second round

Great Gonerby 2nd beat Arnoldfield 32-20, Great Gonerby beat Corby Glen 52-19, Dysart Park beat Vacu-Lug 2nd 40-22.