Home   Whats On   Article

Quartet to perform three great works

The four principals of Symphonia Academica Quartet perform three great classical works written within the span of 24 years, at St James’ Church, Castle Bytham, on Thursday, May 31, at 7.30pm.

Haydn’s ‘Sunrise’ quartet takes its name from the opening rising figure, its sunny mood appearing throughout the piece. In Quartet in C minor op 18 no 4, Beethoven was acutely aware of the legacy of Haydn. Schubert quotes from his incidental music to ‘Rosamunde’, giving the quartet its name.

The quartet comprises Peter Bussereau and Marcus Broome on violins, Ania Ullmann on viola, and cellist Julia Graham.

Tickets are £14 (£12), £8 Artscene/under-26s.

Read more

More by this author

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More